101 Things in 1001 Days

Getting things done – one day at a time.

#34 – Read 30 books.

Thanks to 7 hours on a plane and a few more in airports, I finished my second book for this goal. It was Change of Heart by Jodi Picoult. As I’ve probably said several times before, Jodi Picoult is one of my favorite authors and I have yet to read a book of hers I don’t enjoy.

Change of Heart reminded me in many ways of The Green Mile. It was the story of Shay Bourne, a man on death row for the murder of a young girl and her step-father. Shay has decided he wants to donate his heart after his execution and insists that it go to the sister of the young girl he murdered. The story is told from the perspectives of several characters: Maggie, the ACLU lawyer who will fight for Shay’s right to die as he chooses; Michael, a priest who was once on the jury that convicted Shay and sentenced him to death; Lucious, a prisoner at the jail that houses Shay while he’s on death row; and June, the woman whose husband and child Shay killed, and whose daughter Shay now wants to save.

The story touched on issues of faith and religion, the death penalty, revenge and redemption. It was wonderfully told and had me asking myself questions as I read. That, to me, is the mark of an effective and powerful story–a mark that Picoult’s books always seem to have for me. I’d highly recommend this book to anyone who has ever wondered if God exists, the death penalty is humane, redemption is possible, or miracles are real.

January 20, 2009 - Posted by | Monthly Things

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

